Aviation English Language Proficiency Test

The English Language Proficiency Test is a spoken English test that aims to assess the applicant’s ability to understand Aviation and Plain English and to respond intelligibly at a fully functional pace.

Applicants will be assessed on their speaking and listening proficiency based on the following criteria: Interaction, Comprehension, Fluency, Vocabulary, Structure and Pronunciation.

Pilots and Air Traffic Service Personnel shall demonstrate a minimum proficiency of at least Operational Level ‘4’ of both ICAO Standard Phraseology and plain language, to be issued with or to maintain their respective licenses.


ICAO Rating


Level 6 – Expert

No retest needed



Level 5 – Extended

6 years



Level 4 – Operational

3 years

Level 3 – Pre-operational

Level 2 – Elementary

Level 1 – Pre-elementary


Applicant shall demonstrate in a manner acceptable the ability to speak, and understand the English language used for radiotelephony communication at least in order to qualify for a level 4 of the ICAO Language Proficiency Rating Scale.